Eight medical professionals accused of murder in Diego Maradona’s death will stand trial

A trial date has not yet been set.

Maradona died at the age of 60 of heart failure in November 2020, the same month he underwent successful surgery for a subdural hematoma, more commonly known as a blood clot in the brain.

Prosecutors allege that the eight medical professionals accused in Maradona’s death “violated the duties for which they were each responsible,” which subsequently “resulted in the patient’s death that would otherwise have been avoided,” according to court documents.

In his ruling on Wednesday, Judge Orlando Abel Diaz said the eight defendants had not acted “totally” required by their positions as medical professionals responsible for Maradona’s fragile health.

Diaz said the defendants had taken “no rescue measure” that could have prevented Maradona’s death despite holding positions of “guarantors” capable of taking action and being aware of his “dangerous situation”.

According to Diaz, the defendants’ alleged failure to act in accordance with “good medical practice” meets the legal standards of “hate” required to be charged under Article 79 of Argentine legal code, meaning they could face anywhere from 8 to 25 years in prison.

In his ruling, Diaz also rejected five petitions for nullity and petitions for defense counsel for those accused of dismissal.

The judge also said that two of the defendants will be tried to face additional charges. Neurosurgeon Leopoldo Locke is accused of using a forged private document and psychiatrist Augustina Kozakov is accused of ideological lying, accusing her of signing a certificate proving Maradona’s mental fitness without visiting, according to court documents seen by CNN.

Luke’s lawyer told CNN Spain that he rejects the charges against him and will appeal the court’s ruling.

CNN contacted Kozakov’s lawyer but did not receive an immediate response. In December 2020, Kozakov’s lawyer told CNN that his client “used her best judgment from a medical point of view.”

Ben Church Ben Church, Homero de la Fuente, Jack Guy and Evan Perez Sarmente contributed to this report.

Leave a Comment